Blog karp0tt

GNU/Linux configurations

Linux and sound … failure expected

With what I’ve written before, I thought, using the same things after a recreation of my system should give me a surround sound system.
It was one of the funniest things that ever happened to me.


At first: No sound with alsa drivers. Not even front speakers…
‘mkay, no problem, let’s try one of the models that are in ${Kernelsource}/Documentation/sound/alsa/HD-Audio-Models.txt.

ALC662
======
3stack-dig -> no sound – as expected
6stack-dig -> no sound – again as expected
3stack-6ch -> no sound – hmkay, maybe the next
3stack-6ch-dig -> still no sound – wtf is wrong -.-” (btw. I used this one before, must have somehow missed it in the last posting)
Being a little desperate, I even tried the rest of the models like lenovo-101e, eeepc-p701…
But still no friggin sound.

That’s when I thought:
Screw ALSA, give OSS a try

After some research I stumbled upon Hannu’s blog post, partly comparing OSS with ALSA, that made me smile.

With the help of layman, Mercurial and the oss-overlay, all I needed to do was kicking ALSA from the Kernel and emerging media-sound/oss-devel.
(media-sound/oss installs only version 4.1 if you unkeyword it. Since I was already running ~amd64 for some reasons, and because media-sound/oss-devel-9999 wasn’t hardmasked, I directly installed the latest version from the mercurial repo [Hail programmers versions!])

layman -a oss-overlay && emerge oss-devel && sed -i ‘s#alsa#oss#g’ ${HOME}/.mplayer/config && vim /etc/mpd.conf && /etc/init.d/oss start && /etc/init.d/mpd restart && ossmix

Telling mplayer to use oss was the command with the most typed characters (mpd just needed some dd and del).

What should I say, it worked right from the start.
2.0 Sound – no problem
5.1 Sound – no problem

And not even doing anything else than installing its modules and starting the runscript (if there wouldn’t have been one, I would have made one ~)

Written by body0r

January 18, 2010 at 8:00 pm

