Blog karp0tt

GNU/Linux configurations

xmonad, Zsh – in short: my desktop

I’ve been asked quite a few times now, how I could handle all those terminals – four terminals per workspace, at least three workspaces.
That makes twelve terminals opened at the same time (scripting, tweaking, etc… Sysadmins know that there can be a lot to do, even if you think, everything’s done).
By the way that’s nothing compared to when I’m running in, and I’m quoting my wife on this one, “freak mode” (eight to ten workspaces, six terminals each), but it’s just about enough for daily use.


At first, a screenshot:
Screenshot

The terminal on the left shows my .vimrc, the one on the right my .zshrc.

For window managers and/or Desktop Environments I’ve used the following, but they all had some things I didn’t like:
Enlightenment, IceWM, Fluxbox, wmii, dwm, Beryl, KDE, Xfce, LXDE, ROX and EDE

My window manager right now is xmonad (together with conky and dzen2) and I won’t be looking for another wm in the near future.

It’s minimal, tiling, written in Haskell and it’s easy to use (keyboard + shortcuts) <3

There are enough pages with documentation about those packages out there, so I'm just giving a little idea of what it could look like (above screenshot and the config files on github, linked below).

dotfiles@github

Written by body0r

April 21, 2010 at 7:00 pm

Posted in GNU/Linux

Tagged with , , , , ,

